Vintage school map DIY

Map close up

Hello, merry Christmas and happy new year everyone! I don’t know how other people do it but I have not had time to blog. Dave and I hosted Christmas for some of his family and some of my family this year. It went really well but, man, what a big job! I even delegated and it was still a mammoth effort. Lucky I had lots of help from my lovely (future) Mother in Law. Hard work aside, Christmas day and all the days leading up to it were really special. I made sure I spent time enjoying wrapping the presents while listening to carols, decorating the house, making yummy treats (recipes to come) and also enjoying the company of family and friends. It was my Nieces first Christmas too and so it was extra special with a sweet little bub to bring smiles to everyone’s faces.

Cupboard before Restor-A-Finish 2

Yesterday was the first day we’ve been sans visitors so I went on a decorating craze. What was meant to be a small project led to many other small projects to change up some rooms, reframe some art and just generally tinker with everything. As usual the craft room looks like a bomb has hit it but the rest of the house is looking fresh and summery.

Map corner

This DIY vintage school map was a quick project that turned out really well. I’d got two posters at a bookshop for $6 each (actually they were being sold as wrapping paper even though they are thick enough to be posters). I love posters but I always have trouble finding affordable frames for them that I actually want to hang in the house. Most of the ones I find are only fit for a boring office and I don’t want to spend money on custom framing, especially for a $6 piece of art. I do love those big old vintage world maps that used to hang in classrooms and roll up so this is like a smaller version of that, without the rolling up bit.

For this project you will need:

Map or other poster

Hot glue gun

Twine or string strong enough to hold the weight of your poster and the wood combined

One or two half round dowel rods. Measure the width of your poster and make sure you have enough to cut two lengths

Hack saw (or the shop you buy the wood from may be able to cut it to size for you)

Optional: wood stain, polish, etc

Materials

The dowel I got was’t actually round, I chose one that was triangle but round would look more like the original school maps. I began by going over my wood with Restor-A-Finish in Natural and then Feed-N-Wax, both from Howard, both with some ‘000’ steel wool. You’ll see from the pictures that I also treated my part-restored side cupboard with both Howard products and it looks amazing. I can’t wait until I get time to strip the whole thing and see all that beautiful wood.

Wood, half stained

Wood and poster

Next, cut your wood to size if it hasn’t already been done. Determine the length of string you will need and then add an extra inch before you cut. Once cut, make small knots on both ends just to give the glue something to grip on to.

Map, vases and tray

Apply hot glue to each corner of the top of your poster (front side) and attach the string then add glue all the way along the top border (front side) and attach the wood, flat side down. Do the same with the bottom and you’re done!

Cupboard before Restor-A-Finish 1

Also, in the pictures you can see some of my Christmas presents. Dave gave me the set of gorgeous orange jelly bean vases and Santa (ok, it was me!) gave me the Hollywood Regency faux bamboo tray. Don’t they look great together?

Map above cupboard 1

Like this? You might also like this!

Comments

  1. This is awesome! I’ve been wanting to make one of these as well for a wonderful vintage map I found at a yard sale :) I think you’ve motivated me to just get it down! Thanks for sharing!

    XOXO

  2. hellolidy says:

    This is awesome! I’ve been wanting to make one of these as well for a wonderful vintage map I found at a yard sale :) I think you’ve motivated me to just get it down! Thanks for sharing!

    XOXO

    • Thanks Lidy! It’s such an easy & quick project too. I just popped over to your blog and loved reading about what an amazing year 2012 was for your family- happy new year!

      Maddy

  3. hellolidy says:

    Sorry, get it done :)

Leave a Reply

