Thrift Shop Challenge Accepted!

Thrift shop challenge loot 1

You all know I love op-shopping and will go any chance I get, so when I saw that John and Sherry of Young House Love were hosting The Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge I knew I had to get involved! For those of you who haven’t heard, Macklemore have come out with a song called Thrift Shop and it is my jam! Go and have a listen!

Macklemore-Challenge

John and Sherry had 3 steps to this challenge:

1. Go to the thrift shop with $20 and take a photo;
2. Spend that $20 on whatever you like and photograph your spoils;
3. Find one item (or more) referenced in the song and snap a pic.

I'm gonna pop some tags, only got $20 in my pocket....

So with $20 in my pocket I headed to my local Savers…

And here is what I found:

I found a lovely old blue book with gold writing for $1.99

The Moon and the Bonfire

A small brass vase for $1.99

Little brass vase

A vintage French drinks tray for $2.99

Vintage French drinks tray

And the pièce de résistance… A 1930’s Sparklets Seltzer Bottle! (We call seltzer soda water her in Oz). Ok, confession, the soda bottle was $24.99 but I couldn’t resist. I’ve never seen one for sale in an op shop before and I knew it would be a fab addition to our bar cart in the sun room. So, yes, I overspent and therefore I cheated. But that’s how I roll.

Sparklets vintage seltzer bottle 2

For step three “Find one item (or more) referenced in the song and snap a pic” I found the Dookie brown leather jacket.

Dookie brown leather jacket

I also found something amusing that wasn’t mentioned in the song. An old book with a lovely birthday card glued to the inside with a not so lovely message “to my loveable, lazy, little sister”. Lazy? Errr…thanks for that Marcel…

Sweet card inside a gifted bookNot so sweet message inside the card...

I was very happy with my spoils today. I love the blue colour of that book and actually wore a dress of the same colour to a friend’s wedding last week. I love the little brass vase because I am going through a massive gold/copper/brass phase (more on that here) and I love the Sparklets bottle because it’s just awesome and I like to imagine all the glamorous 1930’s cocktail parties it has witnessed. Most of all though, for some reason the vintage tray is my favourite thing. I think it’s all those lovely pastel colours and the fact that since it’s come home with me it now has a new life as cheerful art to adorn the sunroom walls and there is no place more fitting for a former drinks-tray-turned-art than above the bar cart. Happy days.

Vintage drinks tray as art

Sparklets vintage seltzer bottle up closeVintage French drinks tray up close

Thrift shop challenge loot 2

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Like this post? You might also like this!

 

Comments

  1. lovely finds! I like how you put them all together.

  2. What a GREAT find! And frankly we’re jealous :). We would have cheated too! Oh and love how you styled your bar cart -way to go!!

    • Thanks Michelle! Im pretty happy with the bar cart at the moment. Now all I need is a vintage martini shaker like the gorgeous one you found!

      Maddy

Leave a Reply

